Sufferers of Physical Ailments, Come on a Journey of Healing with Me

Have you ever turned on the radio and heard the lyrics, “Ooh child, things are gonna get easier, ooh child things will get brighter?” Did your mind process these words and welcome the idea that things indeed would get better, only to fall back on the idea that these lyrics were a complete lie 10 minutes later? Was your physical body feeling tingling sensations of joy, only to return back to its normal state that can only be described as an anchor set tightly around your heart?

Welcome to the past 3-4 years of my life, and the typical state human beings tend to place themselves in. I have been dealing with severe anxiety for years, which has manifested into symptoms of peripheral neuropathy. Life slapped me in the face my sophmore year of college and told me I couldn’t enjoy it anymore. I limited myself from going out, drinking, socializing, and enjoying damn near anything. Whenever I’d go out, I risked having a panic attack, a flare-up in my hands and feet, or throwing up after a few drinks because my body wasn’t equipped to regulating alcohol as it once could.

After years and years of this, I knew I needed help. The first step I took was seeing a fantastic therapist who specializes in cognitive behavioral therapy for people suffering from chronic ailments. This is key to anyone who feels their physical symptoms are limiting themselves from enjoying life. It is incredibly hard to get out of the negative thoughts you live with everyday by yourself, especially when a majority of the people around you don’t fully understand your health issues.

The second step I took was reading a book titled Breaking the Habit of Being Yourself by Dr. Joe Dispenza. I cannot recommend this book higher. It was the kick in the butt I needed to finally start living my life again. In fact, I ran 3.6 miles through the Miami heat and finished with rooftop yoga that overlooked the skyline yesterday (see photo). If you told me a few months ago I was going to do that, I would have laughed. The lessons and tools I have learned and will continue to learn from my invaluable resources are what I am going to share with you over the next several months.* I hope you know that things will get easier and they will get brighter.

*I will begin sharing my knowledge with you in short segments starting tomorrow

One thought on “Sufferers of Physical Ailments, Come on a Journey of Healing with Me

Leave a Reply

